ISO 14001

ISO 14001 is the global number one environmental management standard. It sets out the criteria for environmental management systems (EMS). The standard is designed to address the balance between maintaining profitability and reducing environmental impact.  It is applicable to any business, regardless of size, location or income. The aim of the standard is to reduce the environmental footprint of a business and to decrease the pollution and waste a business produces. The most recent version of ISO 14001 was released in 2015.

​​​​​​​The ISO 14000 environmental management standards exist to help organizations minimize how their operations negatively affect the environment. In structure it is similar to ISO 9001 quality management and both can be implemented side by side. It can gain you access to new markets and increase your business turnover.

Get in touch with Avalon Certification

Can be integrated with other standards or stand alone

ISO 14001 – The History

1992 – United Kingdom brought out BS 7750 the first standard on Environmental Management.

1993 - On the recommendation of SAGE, a technical committee (ISO/TC/207) on Environmental Management was set up to develop the ISO 14000 series of international standards on environmental management systems over a wide range of topics related to environmental management.

1993 - European Union introduced the Eco-Management and Audit Regulation (EMAS) on voluntary basis.

1995 - The world Trade Organisation (WTO) encouraged development of the ISO 14000 series of international standards as the "level playing fields" as required by international trade agreements.

1996 - ISO 14001 standard was released

2004 – ISO 14001 was revised with several changes to the current edition which is ISO 14001 2004.

2015 – Current version aligned with the requirements of ISO 9001 2015.

What’s in ISO 14001 2015

  • Context of the organisation
  • Leadership
  • Planning 
  • Support
  • Operation
  • Performance evaluation
  • Improvement